The Whole 30 – Again

Since January 2 I have made a conscious effort to cut out all the psychologically unhealthy, hormone-unbalancing, gut-disrupting, inflammatory food groups out of my life. I went Paleo. It wasn’t a strict, hard core lifestyle, but one that has taken time to embrace and adapt to.

For most of the past 10 months I have been good. Granted, I have indulged in foods and drink that aren’t considered Paleo and I have done so without remorse. I don’t believe in a full time, hard core, strict food regime because that is not a way I wish to live.

But there are times you have to take control of the things you can. There are times you need to cut the crap and give your body a break. Treat it right so you can live a long time. This is one of those times for me.

Those who are Paleo will make multiple Whole 30 attempts during the course of a year. In the past 10 months I have made two dedicated attempts at the Whole 30.

The first time was in January and I kicked its ass.

The second time I tried it was a week after spending 13 days in Italy. I didn’t have a prayer. I ran from that faster than a fat kid from broccoli. Mostly because I’m fat and hate broccoli.

But with the holidays approaching I am committed to enjoying them. There will be salty snacks and sweets. There will be wine and cheeses and foods that are not considered Paleo. But by no means can I enter that time of year feeling like this.

So today through Wednesday November 25 I do The Whole 30. No excuses. No cop outs.

For now, it’s easy. I know the Paleo lifestyle; what’s good and what isn’t.  What’s allowed and what isn’t. Preparation is everything for success. Breakfast was a ground beef egg frittata with roasted cherry tomatoes. Lunch was roasted chicken legs and wings with S,P & garlic, dinner sausage and onions with tomatoes. Daytime snacks are two honey crisp apples; six baby clementines and a bunch of grapes. To drink, six bottles of water..

For now, it’s easy. First days usually are. Come day 10, 11 or 12 it will be a challenge.

Posted on October 27, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

