Hoping for Pharoah’s Saratoga Debut

Taken from the August 10, 2015 NYRA Press Release

“If he comes, that means that he’s doing really, really well,” said HOF trainer Bob Baffert.

He stopped by the barn of trainer John Terranova, who for several years has housed Baffert’s horses when he ships to New York. The next one could be Triple Crown champion American Pharoah for the Grade 1, $1.25 million Travers on August 29.

American Pharoah is a graduate of Fasig-Tipton’s Saratoga Selected Yearlings sale, having sold for $300,000 in 2013. Hip No. 85, he was consigned by Taylor Made Sales Agency and purchased by Ingordo Bloodstock.

“I had to come over and see if maybe there’s another American Pharoah in here that everybody missed last time,” Baffert said. “He was right there and everybody looked at him and walked away from him. All the geniuses missed him.”

“I’m just here doing a little recon if he were to come here, where he’s going to go, what stall, what barn, the layout with the track and everything,” Baffert said. “We’re trying to make it, but he’s going to have to really convince me. I have to be all in and feel really confident, because if he comes here I know he’s going to have to run hard. It’s a tough, demanding racetrack, but he’s handled everything thrown at him so far.”

“He’s been such a special horse and he has this following now. I want to make sure I do the right thing,” Baffert said. “I know there’s always that pressure that we want to run. I’ve been pressured into bringing other horses here and they didn’t do so well, but this horse is different. Point Given was the only one that I brought in for the Travers that had a chance to win; the other ones, I was just trying to make something happen.”

“I’m in a situation with him where if he would have gone to the Haskell and I didn’t like the way he trained there, I would have scratched him. If he were to come here and train and I didn’t like something, we would scratch him. Fortunately, I haven’t had to do that,” Baffert said. “If he comes, that means that he’s doing really, really well.”

Posted on August 11, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

